Snapshots & Snippets

This is the first of something I’m going to try to start doing on Sundays. Not necessarily every Sunday, but occasionally. Each post will be different for it. The first one?

For the snippet? I was up-in-the-air. Obviously I can’t do a snippet on bullet journaling so the snippets won’t relate necessarily to the snapshots every time.

First snippet is what fueled my decision to do Camp NaNo in July:

“No, maman. No. . . we’ve discussed this before.”

Amie groaned, resisting the urge to close her eyes and squeeze her nose. She had to keep watch.

“I don’t care if he’s a doctor. Or if he’s good with children.”

The voice in her ear was becoming an irritating shrill buzzing.

“Listen, I have to go. I have to patrol my sector. We’ll talk later. Love you!”

She disconnected the call quickly, sighing in exasperation and relief. The feeling of irritation disappeared though as she looked out at the view in front of her. Stars as far as the eye could see, and just off to her right the planet she called home in all its evolving beauty.

Second snippet is part of an RP post I did today on a modern fantasy forum:

The haze started to clear a little; realization of what she’d just allowed to happen sharply cutting through her. It felt like a knife to the chest. A gasp of breath was sucked between her teeth as hands dropped and she jerked away from him. Before she could think about it, one hand raised against to connect with her palm against his cheek now. The harsh CRACK! echoing in the quiet of the cathedral.

☸ “How dare you. . . No, you don’t get to do that. You don’t ge-get to touch me or kiss me or as-ask me for help. .” Sucking in another breath, she tried to rein in the anger arcing through her body.

Her shield didn’t come up, magic remaining dormant, in response to the emotions raging inside. And that was a shock too — she should be afraid of him. She wasn’t though. Turning around, she shoved her hands through her hair and gripped tightly as she tried to get ahold of herself. Drawing in a couple breaths to help fight against the sting of more silent tears, Cassandra fought for control. . . and achieved it after a couple of long, hard minutes.

I may or may not use that entire post for my Monday Morsel. We’ll see. . .

And now, for the Snapshots! I decided to go with something that has been taking a lot of my focus and giving me a nice reward lately: my exploration into Bullet Journaling. This is completely new to me, and it’s still a learning process, but it has been useful and delighting. I will be doing an actual blog post on the topic at some point too. At least as far as my own foray into it.

Leave a Reply

