Little About My Writing Love

Just shared this a short time ago in a blog/journal post on dA, but thought I’d post it to my WordPress as well.

_______________

I saw this in a post by IIOtherworldlyII and thought it’d be a fun to do! Given that I’ve hit a snag with my NaNoWriMo writing progress, evil walls, I thought doing this would be a nice way to try to clear some of that block. ^_^ I am not sure who to tag in it so instead what I’ll do is say that anyone who wants to do it should totally do so and tag me in it so I can read your responses!

1. When did you discover you enjoyed writing?

Now, this one is hard. I’ve always written, as least as far back as I can remember, so it’s something that I’ve always done. But I don’t think I really discovered just how much I enjoyed it or how important it was to me until at least middle school. There are times I go without writing, but it’s only when I’m struggling with muse issues or writer’s block, and even then I never feel right without putting down words in some capacity.

2. What are your strengths in writing?

This I’m not really sure how to answer. I can tell you what I think are my strengths? But it’d only be my speculation. Others would be better suited cause it’s hard to judge my own. I’ll say that I feel like my strengths are writing emotional scenes and good character backstory/growth. I’m not sure though. At times I’ve also had people say that I do well with description and have a voice, but I’m not really sure if I agree there as I feel rusty on the former and I struggle a good deal on the latter.

3. Your weaknesses?

Again I’ll say that I can’t really adequately determine this so it’ll just be me speculating on what I think. For me I do know that I struggle a good deal with grammar, but I think a lot of writers do whether they admit it or not. Otherwise we wouldn’t need editors. Beyond that I’d say that my weaknesses are descriptions, knowing how to tie a plot together, and figuring out how to wrap up a story. Oh, and I suck so bad at keeping to an outline. . . if I even bother making one.

4. What is your favorite genre to write in?

Fantasy. Don’t get me wrong, I write in just about anything and enjoy them all greatly. However, Fantasy is my favorite and one I write in the most often. It’s never just straight Fantasy though. Sometimes it’ll be Epic fantasy, sometimes Dark Fantasy, sometimes Steampunk Fantasy, sometimes Historical Fantasy, etc. yet nonetheless they’re always fantasy. Some others that I greatly enjoy are Sci-Fi, Steampunk(well just about any -punk), and Alternative Historical.

5. Do you consider yourself a good writer?

I consider myself a decent writer in that I do write well. I don’t know what qualifies one as a good writer. While I don’t think that I’m a bad writer it’s hard for me to decide if I feel like I’m a good writer. For now, I’m content with the fact that it’s something I deeply love and that I do well enough for people to enjoy it.

6. Do you like to let a lot of people in real life read your work?

Not really. My Mom, my brother, my Mamaw. . . they’ve read my stuff. Mostly though I let friends read it and most of them I’ve made through the ‘net. Yet some are just as close as family whether I’ve met them in person or not. Mostly I post to sites and recently have started putting my stuff out there in a more “professional” capacity in that it’s under a pen name, posted on sites, focus on editing and re-writing, etc. which is what this dA account is actually for to be honest. This is tied to my writing FB page and blog.

7. How often do you write?

Just about all the time with occasional breaks due to health, stress, or writer’s block/muse issues. If I’m not writing my normal written works then I’m writing via online roleplaying forums with characters made for those settings.

8. Who are your favorite writers? Why?

Oh, so many. It’s really hard to list these honestly. I’ve never been good at it cause there’s just many of them. I’ll list what ones I can remember well. However, the why I’ll leave out unless someone in the comments inquires about a specific writer I listed. Just cause it’ll be easier on me.

These are from my Profile section of Favorite Writers and are listed in no particular order:

Stephen King
Neil Gaiman
Margaret Weiss & Tracy Hickman
Robert Jordan
J.R.R. Tolkien
J.K. Rowling
Louisa May Alcott
Arthur Conan Doyle
William Shakespeare
Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Nicole Jordan
Ashlyn Forge
Michael R. Hicks

9. Do you have any OC’s? If you do, describe your favorite one.

I’m not. . . sure what this means? If someone could tell me in the comments then I’ll gladly answer it!

10. If you write fanfic, for what fandoms do you do so?

Actually I do occasionally write some fanfiction. I’ve not written much of it though, but I have 3 fics in progress. One is set in the world of Final Fantasy XI and has 3 posted chapters up on Wattpad(and AO3 if I recall correctly) at present. The others are not posted yet, but will be at some point in the future and they are for Stargate Atlantis and Firefly.

11. Do you prefer writing by hand or typing?

Writing by hand. Not that I don’t love typing, because I do. I also type really fast given that I usually never have to look at my keyboard and I only use two fingers to type outside of the use of my left pinky finger and thumbs. Though I tend to not write by hand as often as I’d like due to the RA which makes my hands hurt if I write a lot or push myself to write when my hands are hurting leading to a flare.

12. Are you a huge critic when it comes to writing?

I’m not sure what you mean here? I do review stories that I read, and eventually want to do more serious reviews on my blog, but I don’t know if I’d say I’m a critic. There are written works out there that I adamantly express my dislike or like on though.

13. What format do you most like to write in? (Prose, short story, poetry, vignettes, etc?)

This is hard for me to answer only cause. . . it depends. Mostly it seems that I write prose. However, short stories, novels, novellas, etc. are fun. And recently I have come to start falling in love with poetry even though I loathed writing it at one time.

AND THAT’S ALL! So, again, I didn’t tag anyone, but if you want to answer: do! Make sure to link me or tag me if you do one. I would love to read your answers. ^_^

Leave a Reply

