The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Thank you to Ashe Marshall for tagging me, and my apologies for this being a day late (was feeling a bit under the weather yesterday). I haven’t really discussed this story much since NaNoWriMo finished as I did not get far in it at all, but I am interesting in sharing. Go HERE to read Ashe Marshall’s next big thing as it sounds pretty awesome.

“This is THE NEXT BIG THING” blog hop which is designed to raise awareness of our work, or work in progress. We do that by answering ten questions about it. We graciously thank the person who nominated us, and tag four to six other authors whose work could very well be THE NEXT BIG THING.

What is the working title of your next book?

Journey to the Fringe is the title, well working title, I gave to the current book I am working on after much debate. I find that naming a story – even just giving it a working title – is a pain. I had another name for it, but then changed it to this one and hopefully it settles for a bit.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Well, originally, this was supposed to be a NANO novel for two different years. Though, of course, I scrapped almost everything writing wise from the previous year and just kept the plotting notes to enhance them for the next year. As to the idea in general, well, nothing really brought it about except the fact that I’d always wanted to try to write a book that was science fiction and involved space. I love space quite a deal and always find the wonder of it awe-inspiring. Each time I see an article about space I’m always reading it and I save alot of space related wallpapers. It’s just something I find utterly fascinating.

What genre does your book fall under?

Science Fiction.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I haven’t really thought on this matter too much. At present I know I’ve kind’ve imagined Jacinta ‘Jac’ Bezek, who is a mechanic aboard the ship, to look similar to Karen Elson with her deep, mysterious blue eyes and shoulder-length curly red hair; the small frame even working. Beyond her though I don’t really know who I’d get to play my characters, but if I figure that out perhaps I’ll make a post about that too.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Oh I’m horrible at these things. . . I suppose it’d be something along the lines of “With time and mysterious forces working against them can the crew of the Valarius succeed in their mission, and save their loved ones from death?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Most likely I would self-publish as I don’t like the way most agency’s seem to rip off authors and have horrific starting packages.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Honestly I am still working on my manuscript. I am hoping to finish it this summer though.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I can’t truly think of any books that I could compare this story to at the moment. Now, if you ask me shows that I could do some comparing to it’d be Battlestar Galactica, Firefly (and the Serenity movie, of course), Farscape, Stargate (SG-1 and SGA) just to name a few. Though I won’t say comparing in the sense that the story would be the same as any of them necessarily, but moreso in that they sparked my brain and might have similarities in relation to the genre.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Besides the fact that I have always wanted to try my hand at writing sci-fi I guess I got inspiration (a creative spark to my muse only) from Katherine Gilraine’s brilliant The Index Series which I am still reading. It’s a brilliant series, quite creative and interesting, that just made me want to write sci-fi even more.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I am not really sure how to say what would or would not pique their interest. I suppose at present it could possibly be the journal entries from when Earth took a horrible turn for the worse.

* * *

Here are the fabulous authors I’ve tagged to tell you about their Next Big Thing!

Sadly, here, I haven’t anyone to put at the moment though there are some brilliant authors out there. Instead I invite you to send me a message on my writing facebook or leave a comment here if you’re interested in doing the NBT Blog Hop, and I will give the form as it was given to me. I hope you all enjoyed reading this and please leave comments.

One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

